Infection Control

Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus
MRSA is an opportunistic strain of staphylococcus aureus found in healthcare facilities that has a resistance to beta-lactam antibiotics. It is commonly spread by hands and contaminated medical instruments.
Vancomycin resistant enterococci
VRE is an enterococcus with a developed resistance to vancomycin. It naturally lives in the intestines but can cause serious ailments such as peritonitis in weak patients, which is very difficult to treat.
Serratia marcescens
Serratia marcescens is usually found in the feces or mouth and does not usually infect healthy people. However, it is an opportunistic bacterium that can cause bacteriemia if it enters the bloodstream of sick or recovering patients.
Pseudomonas aeruginosa
Pseudomonas aeruginosa is an opportunistic bacterium found in most environments, which is associated with infection in patients after surgery. Some strains are showing resistance to beta-lactam and other antibiotics.
Clostridium difficile
Clostridium difficile is a spore-forming bacterium in our intestines. Antibiotics can induce the bacteria to multiply and produces toxins that cause pain and diarrhea. The spores can be washed away but are resistant to hand disinfectant.
Enterohaemorrhagic escherichia coli 157
E. coli can cause food poisoning from only 100 bacteria. Often found in undercooked foods or transferred while using the toilet, E. coli produces verotoxin to destroy blood vessel walls in the large intestine, causing severe abdominal pain.
Norovirus
Norovirus causes inflammation in the digestive tract and common food poisoning. It is usually acquired from raw shellfish or from an infected person’s vomit or feces. As a non-enveloped virus, it is strong against disinfectants.
Rotavirus
Rotavirus causes severe diarrhea in children. Almost every child under 2 years without immunity will experience rotavirus. Transmission most commonly occurs when hands are contaminated while handling vomit or diarrhea.
Influenza virus
The influenza virus causes the common flu. With continual minor mutations it brings about seasonal epidemics every year. The major routes of infection are from airborne particles from sneezing or from touching contaminated surfaces.
Adenovirus
Adenovirus is a non-enveloped virus that causes illnesses such as pneumonia, fever and conjunctivitis. With many subtypes that multiply in the tonsils or lymph nodes, the immune system cannot effectively react, allowing several infections.

Возбудители основных инфекционных заболеваний

Метициллин-устойчивые штаммы золотистого стафилококка
MRSA – разновидность бактерии золотистого стафилококка, устойчивая к действию антибиотиков бета-лактамного ряда. Основным путем распространения является передача через руки и загрязненные медицинские инструменты.
Ванкомицин-устойчивые штаммы энтерококков
VRE – бактерия энтерококка устойчивая к ванкомицину. Естественной средой обитания бактерии является кишечник. У ослабленных пациентов VRE может являться причиной тяжелых заболеваний кишечника и возникновения перитонита.
Serratia marcescens
При попадании в кровь больного или ослабленного человека может вызвать бактериемию.
Синегнойная палочка
Широко распространенная бактерия, являющаяся основной причиной послеоперационных осложнений у пациентов. Отдельные штаммы бактерии устойчивы к бета-лактамам и другим антибиотикам.
Клостридиум
Клостридиум – спорообразующие бактерии, присутствующие в кишечнике человека. Под действием антибиотиков возможно размножение бактерии и выделение токсинов, вызывающих боль и диарею. Споры бактерии смываются водой, однако устойчивы к действию кожных антисептиков.
Кишечная палочка
Присутствие всего лишь 100 бактерий кишечной палочки достаточно для возникновения пищевого отравления. В ходе жизнедеятельности бактерии вырабатывают веротоксин, разрушающий стенки сосудов в толстой кишке и вызывающий сильные абдоминальные боли.
Норовирус
Норовирус является причиной воспаления желудочно-кишечного тракта и общих пищевых отравлений. В связи с отсутствием липидной оболочки, норовирус является более устойчивым к действию антисептиков по сравнению с другими вирусами.
Ротавирус
Часто вызывает диарею у детей в возрасте до 2-х лет. Основной механизм передачи ротавирусов – фекально-оральный, с участием различных путей и множественных факторов передачи.
Вирус гриппа
Вирус является причиной возникновения обычного гриппа. За счет постоянных мутаций ежегодно вызывает сезонные эпидемии гриппа. Передается воздушно-капельным путем и при контакте с зараженными поверхностями.
Аденовирус
Аденовирусы – семейство ДНК-содержащих вирусов, лишенных липопротеиновой оболочки. Являются причиной таких заболеваний, как пневмония, лихорадка и конъюнктивит.